Board of Directors Meeting Minutes April 18, 2014

The Iowa Public Radio, Inc. Board of Directors met on April 18, 2014, at Iowa Public Radio, 2111 Grand Avenue, Suite 100, Des Moines, IA. Present for the meeting were Chairman Mary Kramer and Director John McCarroll. Also present from Iowa Public Radio were Myrna Johnson and Kelly Edmister and James Hanks with Ahlers & Cooney, P.C. Attending by phone were Directors Steve Firman, JoAnn Johnson, Scott Ketelsen, Lin Larson and Doug West.

Chair Kramer called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. Roll call was taken with each director stating their location.

Steve Firman – in Cedar Falls
JoAnn Johnson – in Panora
Scott Ketelsen – in office in Cedar Falls
Mary Kramer – present at meeting site
Lin Larson – in office in Iowa City
John McCarroll – present at meeting site
Doug West – in SW Michigan

Based on the responses provided, the requirements of Section 21.8(1)(c) were satisfied and it was appropriate to proceed with the approval of the agenda.

Agenda

Chair Kramer requested a motion to approve the agenda. Director Firman moved and Director McCarroll seconded to approve the agenda as presented. By roll call vote, the motion was approved:

Firman	Johnson	Ketelsen	Kramer	Larson	McCarroll	West
Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye

Closed Session

Chair Kramer requested a motion to enter closed session. Director McCarroll moved to enter closed session as provided by Iowa Code Section 21.5(1)(c) to discuss strategy with counsel in a matter where litigation is imminent and where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation. Director Firman seconded the motion. By roll call vote, the motion was approved:

Firman	Johnson	Ketelsen	Kramer	Larson	McCarroll	West
Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye



Board of Directors Meeting Minutes April 18, 2014

The Board convened in closed session at 10:05 a.m.

The closed session was tape recorded and minutes of the closed session were prepared.

The Board reconvened in open session at 11:33 a.m.

Adjourn

Chair Kramer requested a motion to adjourn the meeting. Director Firman moved and Director McCarroll seconded to adjourn the meeting. By roll call vote, the motion was approved:

Firman	Johnson	Ketelsen	Kramer	Larson	McCarroll	West
Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye	Aye

Chair Kramer adjourned the meeting at 11:34 a.m.